András Schiff and de Staatskapelle Dresden

András Schiff
Staatskapelle Dresden
Fri 23.02.2024 – 20:00
Queen Elisabeth Hall, Antwerpen
Fri 23.02.24
Past event

The Staatskapelle Dresden is probably the world’s oldest symphony orchestra and has been one of the world’s leading orchestras for almost 500 years. Acclaimed pianist and conductor András Schiff is renowned for his Mozart performances, in particular. On this occasion, he will be performing Mozart’s wonderfully lively Piano Concerto No. 23. Mendelssohn composed his Symphony No. 4 after a long voyage through Italy. His impressions of Italian art and architecture, the vast countryside and the exuberant village fetes resonate in this energetic symphony. The orchestra opens with a Baroque landmark: Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No 5. A programme with considerable appeal combined with the genius of these consummate performers: all the makings of a memorable concert!

in cooperation with De Singel


Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Mozart Piano Concerto nr. 23 in A, KV 488

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 in A major, opus 90, 'Italian'