Raphaela Gromes plays Dvořák's Cello Concerto

Volodymyr Sirenko, Raphaela Gromes
National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine
Mon 18.11.2024 – 20:00
Queen Elisabeth Hall, Antwerpen
Mon 18.11.24

No other instrument resonates as humanly as the cello, declared Antonín Dvořák. His renowned Cello concerto displays the full spectrum of emotion in music, from exuberant joy to captivating drama and virtuosic lyricism. This masterpiece finds a perfect interpreter in the graceful hands of German star cellist Raphaela Gromes, celebrated as one of the most talented and approachable artists today. Her sound swirls and falls silent, unleashing both exuberance and intense serenity. The orchestral canvas is painted by the always passionate National State Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine. In times of war, we sometimes forget that music has the power to bring people closer. Led by their equally passionate and renowned chief conductor, Volodymyr Sirenko, they forge a strong connection with the Antwerp audience through Sibelius’ late-romantic Third Symphony. Those who cherish the warm, velvety tones of the cello and the orchestral splendour of the North will immediately feel at home here.


Stankovych Old Mountain Dances from Verkhovyna

Dvořák Concerto for Cello in B minor, opus 104

Sibelius Symphony No. 3 in C major, opus 52

Volodymyr Sirenko


Raphaela Gromes


National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine