Dámaso Escauriaza

Dámaso Escauriaza Martinez - Peñuela (1998), a native of Pamplona, grew up surrounded by instruments in a very musical family. Thanks to that, he developed a great sensitivity towards music and art.

He completed his percussion studies at the "Pablo Sarasate" Professional Conservatory of Music. At the age of 17, he moved to Amsterdam where he obtained a Bachelor's in classical and contemporary percussion, and a Master's in orchestral percussion and timpani at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam with professors Nick Woud, Mark Brafhaart, Bence Major, Peter Prommel, Rachel Xi Zhang and Arnold Marinissen. During this time, he was a member of the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO), an Academist of the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (Belgium), and received scholarships from the Fundación Caja Navarra and the Government of Navarra.

Dámaso regularly collaborates with formations such as the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Basque National Orchestra, Amsterdam Sinfonietta and Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of conductors such as Daniel Harding, Ricardo Chailly, Alan Gilbert, Klaus Mäkelä, Ivan Fischer, John Adams, Mark Elder, Pablo Heras-Casado, Eliahu Inbal and Gianandrea Noseda.

In August 2021, Dámaso became the solo percussionist for the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, led by chief conductor Elim Chan, honorary conductor Philippe Herreweghe and conductor emeritus Jaap van Zweden.

Dámaso Escauriaza

Dámaso Escauriaza Martinez - Peñuela (1998), originaire de Pampelune, a grandi entouré d'instruments dans une famille très musicale. Grâce à cela, il a développé une grande sensibilité pour la musique et l'art.

Il a terminé ses études de percussion au Conservatoire professionnel de musique "Pablo Sarasate". À l'âge de 17 ans, il s'installe à Amsterdam où il obtient un Bachelor's en percussion classique et contemporaine, et un Master's en percussion orchestrale et timbales au Conservatorium van Amsterdam avec les professeurs Nick Woud, Mark Brafhaart, Bence Major, Peter Prommel, Rachel Xi Zhang et Arnold Marinissen. Pendant cette période, il a été membre de l'Orchestre des jeunes de l'Union européenne (EUYO), académicien de l'Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (Belgique), et a reçu des bourses de la Fundación Caja Navarra et du gouvernement de Navarre.

Dámaso collabore régulièrement avec des formations telles que le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, l'Orchestre philharmonique de Rotterdam, l'Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France, l'Orchestre national basque, l'Amsterdam Sinfonietta et l'Orchestre philharmonique des Pays-Bas, sous la direction de chefs d'orchestre tels que Daniel Harding, Ricardo Chailly, Alan Gilbert, Klaus Mäkelä, Ivan Fischer, John Adams, Mark Elder, Pablo Heras-Casado, Eliahu Inbal et Gianandrea Noseda.

En août 2021, Dámaso est devenu le percussionniste soliste de l'Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, dirigé par le chef d'orchestre principal Elim Chan, le chef d'orchestre honoraire Philippe Herreweghe et le chef d'orchestre émérite Jaap van Zweden.