Elisabeth Week

During Elisabeth week, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, resident orchestra of the Queen Elisabeth Hall, welcomes each year a winner or laureate of the Queen Elisabeth Competition.

In Belgium’s world of classical music, the name Queen Elisabeth links three important institutions. As orchestra in residence of the Queen Elisabeth Hall, we are delighted to work with the Chapel to present this Elisabeth week the focus of which is a winner from the Competition.

Edition 2025: Hayoung Choi

In 2025, the exceptional cellist Hayoung Choi will be a guest of our orchestra. Born in Bielefeld, Germany, she received her musical training at the Korean National University of Arts with Myung-Wha Chung and Hyongwon Chang, the Purcell School for Young Musicians with Alexander Boyarsky, and with Frans Helmerson and Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt at the Kronberg Academy. She won First Prize in several international music competitions, including the Krzysztof Penderecki Cello Competition, the Brahms competition in Austria, the Antonio Janigro cello competition and the Justus Dotzauer competition for young cellists. As a soloist, she has performed with renowned ensembles such as the Kremerata Baltica, the Camerata Salzburg, the Opern- und Museumsorchester Frankfurt, the Kraków Philharmonic Orchestra, the Olsztyn Philharmonic Orchestra and the Suwon Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2022, Hayoung Choi won First Prize in the Queen Elisabeth Competition for Cello. Later the same year, she was able to shine on the Queen Elisabeth Hall stage in an impressive recital.

Elisabeth Week 2025
    • Thu 16.01.25
      Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel
    • Sun 19.01.25
      AMUZ, Antwerpen
  • Elisabeth Week: Hayoung Choi performs Lutosławski

    Tomáš Netopil, Hayoung Choi
    Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
    Sat 18.01.2025 – 15:00
    One concert, two Queen Elisabeth Competition winners.
    Queen Elisabeth Hall, Antwerpen
    Sat 18.01.25

All editions

  • Edition 5 (January 2025) - Hayoung Choi
  • Edition 4 (January 2024) - Bomsori
  • Edition 3 (January 2023) - Lukáš Vondráček
  • Edition 2 (January 2022) - Anna Vinnitskaja
  • Edition 1 (April 2021) - Denis Kozhukhin