Chamber music: Piano quintets by Franck and Fauré

Musicians of the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
Sun 18.05.2025 – 15:00
AMUZ, Antwerpen
Sun 18.05.25

Many French composers are renowned masters in the art of playing with musical colours. Among them are Gabriel Fauré and his Belgian contemporary, César Franck, who composed in the French style. Their Piano Quintets stand as pivotal contributions to the chamber music repertoire. During the premiere of Franck's Piano Quintet in f, none other than Camille Saint-Saëns played the piano, while Fauré dedicated his First Piano Quintet to the renowned violinist-composer Eugène Ysaÿe. An intimate concert filled with melodic refinement, subtle textures, and harmonic innovation.


Fauré Piano Quintet No. 1 in D minor, opus 89

Franck Piano Quintet in F minor